Just Say Thank You

A lady came in my office this morning, and looking around she said, “Wow, you’re a wonderful decorator. It’s beautiful in here!” I immediately started explaining “oh I’m not the one who did this, I’ve never been much of a decorator”. One of my co-workers just happened to be standing nearby. He interrupted me and said “Just say thank you”.

Wow, it had never occurred to me to just say thank you. Of course, you shouldn’t take credit for something you didn’t do…good or bad. But I rarely can accept a compliment so easily and just say thank you.

It’s always something like:
“Oh, this old thing, well its comfortable.”
“These shoes – I’ve had them f.o.r.e.v.e.r.”
“This ring? Someone gave it to me, I would have never been able to pick out something so beautiful.”
“Sure I can sing…I sing like a bird – an old crow that is!”
“Yes I HAVE lost some weight BUT I have like a million more pounds to go.”

And all the while, I should have smiled and just said thank you.

Thank You

A new challenge for me: When someone pays me a compliment, do not explain the details, or put myself down, or go on and on out of embarrassment, but simply smile an award winning smile and say “Thank You”.

I can do that 🙂

One thought on “Just Say Thank You

  1. I used to be uncomfortable accepting compliments and had to work at it. Now, I may still be surprised by one, however, I am much more able to receive it graciously. Your friend gave you very good advice. :o)

Leave a Reply

