This is how you know I love you…

I found this again today and didn’t want to lose it, so it has become today’s blog entry.

~~~~~

“You really shouldn’t say ‘I love you’ unless you mean it.  But if you mean it, you should say it a lot.  People forget. When someone loves you, the way they say your name is different. You just know that your name is safe in their mouth.”

~Megan Jo Eberhart, 5 years old.

 

This is how you know I love you.

Angel dust falls whenever I speak your name.

My eyes glitter and my lips turn up at the corners in a smile.

 

This is how you know I love you.

Your name rolls off my tongue light as a feather.

From the words that fall from my lips, others would think you’re an angel

And could do no wrong.

 

This is how you know I love you.

I tell you.

Just in case you forget.

T ~

November 7, 2008

Leave a Reply

